Balearics are residents of the Balearic Isles (in Spanish, Islas Baleares) located about 80 to 300 kilometers off the east coast of Spain. The Balearic Isles are an archipelago composed of an eastern group of islands including Majorca (Mallorca) , Minorca (Menorca), and Cabrera and a western group including Ibiza and Formentera. The total land area is 5,014 square kilometers. The islands are a province of Spain with a semiautonomous government. In 1982, Balearics numbered 669,101. Culturally, the Balearics are classified within the Països Catalan tradition.

See Catalans (Països Catalans)

User Contributions:

Comment about this article, ask questions, or add new information about this topic: