Triqui - Settlements

Triqui territory encompasses 26,030 hectares, with two main centers: San Andrés Chicahuaxtla, in the highlands, and San Juan Copala, in the lowlands. The former, with a semicompact settlement pattern, is located to the south of the mestizo city of Tlaxiaco, at an elevation of 2,300 meters. It is located on one of the spurs of the cordillera, which begins at the so-called Mixtec Knot. San Juan Copala, which has a more compact settlement pattern, is situated to the north of the mestizo city of Putla, at an elevation of 1,300 meters. It rests in a depression surrounded by several mountains. Other Triqui towns include Santo Domingo del Estado, San Martin Itunyoso, San José Xochistlan, and San Miguel Copala. The remainder of the settlements are small hamlets with a dispersed settlement pattern. Houses have log walls and roofs covered with wood shingles or straw.

User Contributions:

Comment about this article, ask questions, or add new information about this topic: