Lesu - Settlements

Lesu consists of fifteen named hamlets, all located along the sea. The hamlets contain from two to eight thatched, bamboo-walled houses and a communal cooking area. Larger hamlets also have men's houses on the shore, a cemetary, and cook houses. There is also a mission station. An individual's identity is based on residence both in Lesu and in a specific hamlet. Taro gardens are located inland, with Lesu land extending 8 or 9 kilometers in from the sea.

User Contributions:

Comment about this article, ask questions, or add new information about this topic: